Assembly polls: SP in UP, Congress in Goa have advantage over BJP, says Sena’s Raut

Shiv Sena Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Raut on Sunday said the Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party has an edge over the ruling BJP in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls currently underway. Goa was facing a “khichdi” situation but the Congress has an advantage over the BJP, which has been in power in the neighbouring state since … Read more

Late Manohar Parrikar’s son, local heavyweight, and AAP turncoat vie for Panaji pie in multi-corner contest

The BJP rebel and son of the former chief minister the late Manohar Parrikar, local heavyweight Atanasio Monserrate of BJP, AAP’s former chief ministerial candidate for Goa now contesting on a Congress ticket, and an AAP nominee trying his luck for the third time — all are in the fray from Panaji constituency, making it … Read more

Fighting Goa Assembly polls was never cakewalk for Shiv Sena, NCP, shows data

The Shiv Sena and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), the ruling allies in Maharashtra, have forged an alliance for the first time in Goa for the February 14 Assembly elections, but data shows that winning seats in this coastal state has never been an easy task for the two parties individually, and their candidates had … Read more

60 pc MLAs in Goa switched parties in last five years, a ‘record’ in India: ADR report

Panaji, As many as 24 legislators in Goa, which is 60 per cent of the total strength of the 40-member state Assembly, have switched parties in the last five years, a report by an organisation has said. The Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR) said in its report that with this, Goa has set a unique … Read more

Goa Assembly Polls: PM Modi to chair meeting on January 19 to finalise BJP candidates

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will chair a crucial meeting at the BJP headquarters on January 19 evening to finalise candidates for the upcoming Goa Assembly polls scheduled next month, said sources in the party. Union Home Minister Amit Shah, party national president JP Nadda, Goa election in-charge Devendra Fadnavis, Co-in charge G Kishan Reddy, Co-in … Read more

NCP files disqualification plea against Goa MLA after he merges party’s legislature wing with TMC

The NCP on Tuesday filed a disqualification petition before Goa Assembly Speaker against MLA Churchill Alemao, a day after he claimed to have merged the party’s legislature wing with the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC). Alemao (72), the former chief minister, on Monday gave a letter to Speaker Rajesh Patnekar informing him that he has … Read more