BJP MP Arjun Singh rejoins Trinamool Congress

Kolkata: In a jolt to the saffron camp in West Bengal, BJP MP Arjun Singh on Sunday rejoined the Trinamool Congress, ending weeks of speculation over his possible switchover to the ruling party. Singh was welcomed into the party by TMC national general secretary Abhishek Banerjee at his office in south Kolkata. “Warmly welcoming former … Read more

Indians only people who have managed democracy at unparalleled scale: Rahul

Democracy in India is a global public good and Indians are the only people who have managed democracy at an unparalleled scale, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi said on Friday as he participated at an ‘Ideas for India’ conference in London. Gandhi, who is in the UK, also posted pictures on Twitter from the event in … Read more

TMC’s street fighter chief Mamata Banerjee to be game-changer in 2024 polls: Shatrughan Sinha

A day after winning the Asansol parliamentary seat for the TMC by over three lakh votes, Shatrughan Sinha said the party’s “street fighter” supremo Mamata Banerjee will prove to be a “game-changer” in the 2024 General Election. In an interview with PTI, he credited Banerjee, the West Bengal chief minister, with the victory from Asansol, … Read more

Mithun Chakraborty calls on Asansol residents to vote for ‘younger sister’ Agnimitra Paul in by-polls

After nearly a year’s lull since his whirlwind campaign trail across West Bengal during the 2021 assembly elections, Bollywood star and BJP leader Mithun Chakraborty on Saturday again took a plunge into canvassing and appealed to the residents of Asansol to vote for party candidate Agnimitra Paul in the upcoming by-polls to the Lok Sabha … Read more

Mafia rule in West Bengal, Centre’s intervention needed to restore law and order: BJP

A fact-finding team of the BJP submitted its report on a recent case of violence in West Bengal‘s Birbhum district, in which nine people were burnt to death, to party president JP Nadda on Wednesday and demanded central intervention for the restoration of law and order in the state. The BJP had constituted the five-member … Read more

Bengal killings: TMC Rampurhat-1 block president Anarul Hossain arrested

Trinamool Congress Rampurhat-1 block president Anarul Hossain was arrested on Thursday in connection with the killings in Bogtui village in West Bengal’s Birbhum district, police said. He was arrested from Tarapith in the district within hours of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee directing the police to nab him for not paying attention to local people’s apprehension … Read more

Khamosh… Trinamool, BJP aim to silence each other in Asansol bypoll

After ‘Khela Hobe’ in the 2021 West Bengal assembly polls, ‘Khamosh‘ has become the new catchphrase in the upcoming bypoll in the state in Asansol, with even the BJP taking up the word from actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha‘s iconic dialogue. BJP candidate Agnimitra Paul in Asansol, who kicked off her campaign on Sunday by offering prayer … Read more

Mamata names Shatrughan Sinha and Babul Supriyo as TMC candidates for bypolls

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Sunday named Shatrughan Sinha as TMC‘s candidate for bypoll to Asansol parliamentary seat, and Babul Supiyo as nominee for Ballygunge assembly byelection. “Happy to announce on behalf of the All India Trinamool Congress that Sri Shatrughan Sinha, former Union Minister and famed actor, will be our candidate in … Read more

West Bengal Governor slams state govt for supporting TMC MLAs who allegedly prevented governor from leaving the house

West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar and state government are at loggerheads again, with the Governor slamming the West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee for supporting the women Trinamool MLAs, who allegedly prevented the Governor from leaving the House, on March 7. The BJP had created ruckus inside the assembly and obstructed the Governor to read … Read more

Abhishek Banerjee reappointed as TMC national general secretary

TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee on Friday formed a new officer bearers’ committee, reappointing her nephew Abhishek Banerjee as the party’s national general secretary and veteran leader Yashwant Sinha as its vice-president. Senior TMC leaders Subrata Bakshi and Chandrima Bhattacharya, too, have also been given the post of national vice-presidents. Among others, TMC minister Aroop Biswas … Read more