Hanuman Chalisa row: Court order on bail plea of Rane couple now on May 4

Maharashtra’s MP-MLA couple Navneet Rana and Ravi Rana, arrested over the Hanuman Chalisa row, will have to remain in jail at least for a few more days as a special court on Monday said it will give its ruling on their bail plea on May 4. Earlier, special judge R N Rokade had reserved the … Read more

UP governor administers oath of pro-tem speaker to BJP MLA Ramapati Shastri

Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of pro-tem speaker to senior BJP leader Ramapati Shastri at the Raj Bhawan here on Saturday. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath was among those present on the occasion, sources in the Raj Bhawan said. Shastri, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA from Mankapur in Gonda district, will now … Read more

13 doctors make it to Punjab assembly; vow to strengthen health infrastructure

Punjab’s health system could go under the knife with 13 doctors making it to the state assembly this election, including 10 from the AAP which is set to form the next government. “I feel the way the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) worked in Delhi in various sectors, particularly health, instilled confidence among doctors. The doctors … Read more

AK Antony bids goodbye to electoral politics, Parliament and Delhi

Congress stalwart AK Antony has decided to bid goodbye to electoral politics, Parliament and Delhi. Antony, 81, has formally informed Congress president Sonia Gandhi and the Kerala party leadership that he would not seek re-election to the Rajya Sabha when his term ends on April 2 – even though Congress in Kerala has the legislative … Read more

Congress in Manipur will not win more than five seats: Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma

Assam chief minister, Himanta Biswa Sarma said that Congress in Manipur polls will be restricted to single-digit and will not win more than five seats. Sarma who was in Manipur on Monday said, “Congress has given a walkover and will be restricted to a single digit. Congress will be restricted to five seats.” BJP is … Read more

Navjot Singh Sidhu says MLA can make cops ‘wet their pants’, police officer sends defamation notice

Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu has courted controversy while praising two party members, allegedly saying that they are capable of making policemen wet their pants. Former chief minister Amarinder Singh and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Daljit Singh Cheema slammed him over the purported remark and a Chandigarh police officer sent him a defamation … Read more

12 Meghalaya MLAs punch Congress hard, join TMC

Twelve of the 17 Congress MLAs in the Meghalaya Assembly on Thursday joined the Trinamool Congress, dealing a body blow to the grand old party in the northeastern state, their leader and former chief minister Mukul Sangma said. He said the decision to shift allegiance to Mamata Banerjee’s party was taken after “exhaustive due diligence … Read more

West Bengal assembly to be adjourned after obituary reference to Subrata on Monday

An obituary reference would be made to Panchayat Minister Subrata Mukherjee at the West Bengal assembly in the first half on November 8, following which the House will be adjourned for the day, an official said on Saturday. The Winter session of the assembly, which began on November 1, is currently underway. “There will be … Read more

Uttarakhand Transport Minister Yashpal Arya, his MLA son resign from BJP, join Congress

In a big jolt for the BJP ahead of the next year’s assembly polls, Uttarakhand Transport Minister Yashpal Arya quit the saffron party on Monday and joined the Congress along with his MLA son Sanjeev. Yashpal Arya and his son, along with their supporters, joined the Congress in the presence of senior party leaders Harish … Read more