CBDT chairman PC Mody retires, CBDT member Jagannath Mohapatra to discharge duties of chairman for 3 months

Central Board of Direct Taxes member Jagannath Mohapatra will officiate as the chairman of the Board for three months or till the time a new chairman is appointed, the finance ministry said in a notification Monday.

Present chairman Prakash Chandra Mody, a 1982-batch Indian revenue services officer, will retire today. Mody was appointed chairman in February 2019. He was reappointed as chairman last year and was given a three-month extension in March this year, which ended today.

“Consequent upon completion of tenure of Shri Pramod Chandra Mody, Chairman, Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) on 31.05.2021, it has been decided with the approval of the competent authority that Shri Jagannath Bidyadhar Mohapatra, Member, CBDT shall discharge the duties and responsibilities of the post of Chairman, CBDT in addition to his own duties for a period of three months or till appointment of a regular Chairman, whichever is earlier,” the notification said.

Mohapatra, a 1984 batch Indian revenue services officer was appointed as member in the Board last week, along with Rashmi Saxena Sahni and Anuja Sarangi, filling up vacant positions.

Odisha-born Mohapatra has held several positions including commissioner in the income tax department in Delhi, Mumbai and other regions. He was posted as principal chief commissioner of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh before being given the charge of member in the CBDT.

Source link

Leave a comment

%d bloggers like this: