BJP beats trend in Uttarakhand, returns to power; but CM Pushkar Singh Dhami loses

Dehradun: In a first for Uttarakhand, the ruling party has been voted back to power with the BJP winning 48 seats in the 70-member assembly.

The margin of victory reflects that the Modi factor has worked and so have issues like nationalism and development. Prime Minister Narendra Modi had held three public meetings during the campaigning in Kumaon, Garhwal and Plain regions. Voters were perhaps impressed by his statement that this decade belongs to Uttarakhand.

The most disappointing news for the BJP came from Khatima from where chief minister Pushkar Singh Dhami lost the election. With Dhami losing from Khatima, the BJP might undertake a fresh exercise to elect a new CM. The race for the chief minister’s post is now wide open and there are many contenders.

Dhami is the third CM to lose an election in the state. Earlier, former chief ministers Harish Rawat and BC Khanduri had lost the elections while still in office.

While Harish Rawat, who remained the poster boy of the Congress in his capacity as the head of the campaign committee, lost the election to the BJP nominee by a good margin of around 17,000 votes in Lalkuwan seat, Aam Aadmi Party‘s CM face Colonel (retired) Ajay Kothiyal also faced defeat in Gangotri bagging just around 6,000 votes, securing the third position.

BJP, during its campaign, mainly highlighted major development works like the Rishikesh-Karnprayag line, the all weather road and reconstruction works around Kedarnath, which have been progressing at a fast pace. The party also highlighted the One Rank One Pension Scheme to woo the army-men and their family members.

The Congress’ attempts to highlight local issues did not work in its favour this time.

Source link

Leave a comment

%d bloggers like this: